Sustainable Schools Apply Online

Latest News

Sustainable Communities Awards 2017 04-Apr-2017

The Sustainable Communities Awards are on again with entries due by 13th April, 2017 Read m..

Stanley 2016 Tidy Towns Winner 22-Aug-2016

Stanley was announced as the 2016 Tidy Towns winner at the Sustainable Communities Awards functi..

Triabunna - 2016 Australian Tidy Town Winner 21-Mar-2016

The following article on Triabunna's win at the Australian Tidy Town awards appeared in the Exam..

KAB National Newsletter March 2016 07-Mar-2016

Read the March 2016 KAB National Newletter (

Glenorchy Wins Youngs Legends Category 21-Nov-2015

At the 2015 Australian Sustainable Cities Awards held in Brisbane on the 13th November Glenorchy..

Latest Downloads

Glenorchy 2015 Tasmanian Sustainable City


Glenorchy City Council National Finalist awaits Sustainable Cities judging

Glenorchy City Council are once again the Keep Australia Beautiful Tasmania Sustainable Cities Award winners for 2015, which now makes them a finalist for the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards.

This is the second year in a row for Glenorchy. They will be visited by Australian Sustainable Cities judge Sean Rooney in mid October to compare them to five other finalists from all over the country.

Mr Rooney said, “to be once again recognised on a national stage is quite the achievement for Glenorchy. I can’t wait to see their winning projects first hand.”

Sponsored by the Australian Packaging Covenant, the Australian Sustainable Cities Awards encourage, motivate and celebrate the local sustainability achievements of urban communities across Australia, and have been running since 2007.

National Sustainable Cities finalists already announced include:

· City of Kalgoorlie Boulder, Western Australia

· Canberra Ornithological Group, Australian Capital Territory

· City of Canada Bay, New South Wales

· City of Frankston, Victoria

· Queensland (TBA)

The National awards will be held in November, hosted by last year’s winners, Brisbane City Council, in Queensland.

Contact Details

Judge Contact:
Sean Rooney | 0422 161 410 |

Finalist Contact:
Geoff Marsh, KAB Tas | 0488 101 585 |

National Media Comment:
Robert Thomas, Chair, Keep Australia Beautiful | 0448 530 288 |

National Media Contact:
Alice Morgan, Communications Manager, Keep Australia Beautiful | 02 8626 9396 |